8 comments

Champagne, France

IMG_4286

IMG-20151118-WA0001

Spending the last three days in Champagne, France was nothing short of absolutely, luxuriously fabulous.

Every 2 seconds a bottle of Champagne is opened.

I feel I was in an out-of-body experience as I was sitting in the mansion of Louis Roederer Champagne House comparing Dom Perignon to Cristal vintage 2002. In other words, sipping 300 dollar bottles of Champagne amongst professionals sitting by the fire being served… by butlers.

I am not joking. Wow.

 

In total, we visited 6 Champagne houses which are : Louis Roederer, Dom Perignon/Moet-Chandon, Bollinger, Ulysse Collin, Duval Leroy, Jaques Selosse… We had private tours of their productions facilities, traveled down to their cellars and had multiple Champagne tastings … not to mention fabulous multi-course lunch and dinners prepared by private chefs. Some of the best meals I have ever had in France… and that speaks volumes. Seriously, the best quality of food and wine… I am so honored. I was treated as a top professional at all locations. I felt a bit like royalty. It was a little surreal.

IMG-20151118-WA0002

Presents! Bottles of Moet and Dom Perignon!

Who am I???

IMG_4296.JPG

Tasting ~ Duval Leroy. We tasted 8 of their champagnes… and had to precisely compare all of them… one after the other. This was a very luxurious experience, yes… but I was also required to be immensely focused.

 

I was required to speak to the professionals on my thoughts of the Champagne. Wow… talk about pressure. It was very nerve-racking but so good to develop me as a professional in the wine world. The room was silent as my name was called to discuss the Dom Perignon vintage 2006. If I can be comfortable talking to the sommeliers of Dom Perignon about the vintage of 2006…. I think I can go out in Paris, or anywhere in the world and discuss wine with anyone 🙂

IMG-20151118-WA0012

 

Champagne, France is so beautiful. There are 300 houses that make Champagne… if sparkling wine is made outside of these houses… it is not allowed to be called Champagne. The feeling there is rich as you drive along the roads and see all the vines and top producers of this 4.5 billion dollar industry. I seriously had the most amazing time. A truly unique experience… we had a mountain of fun but I am also saturated with knowledge regarding the making of Champagne, the region as a whole, and how the top Champagne houses do this business.

To think my classmates and I have 4 more trips across France like this ~ makes me so elated. Next stop… the beautiful Burgundy region of France. If it is anything like this experience I will go back to my slice of heaven on earth again 🙂

IMG_4316 IMG_4271 IMG_4256

After our long days of “work” we celebrated with dinners out and fun times in the hotel. I swear even after our professional tastings all day…we can still discuss the wine list at dinner with great passion.

 

Back to Paris now…. Au Revoir Champagne.

 

I drink it when I’m happy and when I’m sad. Sometimes I drink it when I’m alone. When I have company I consider it obligatory. I trifle with it if I’m not hungry and I drink it when I am. Otherwise I never touch it, unless I’m thirsty. ~  Madame Jacques Bollinger 1961

 

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “Champagne, France

  1. I love your adventure krista. You will be so educated in wines. Fabulous and the pictures of the land and food is so warm and inviting. Enjoy the ride sweethearts

    Like

  2. Fabuleux et magnifique! Bien Sur! so happy for your excellent adventure in Champagne!
    xoxo, aunt jenny

    Like

  3. It all sounds positively, well, bubbly! Champagne is my favorite drink. What a wonderful school trip. Love the quote by Madame Jacques Bollinger as well. Did you have a favorite bottle? Do tell.

    Like

    • K Walsh~ We tried MANY … it is hard to choose… but I loved the La Grande Annee (Bollinger) Also, the Cristal 2002 (Louis Roederer) ~ the fact that we got to drink that was rare. Also, the 2005 Vintage Duval Leroy was outstanding. My other favorites actually came from the first we visited… Ulysse Collin a more artisan vineyard… but very high end as his terroir and wine making is superb. 🙂 Literally all were wonderful… but if I had some memorable ones those would be them!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Sounds Amazing!! Praying for peace in Paris.
    Love, Mom and Dad

    Like

  5. Wow. All I can say. Wow.

    Like

  6. BTW some of those wines are intriguing. Have had Cristal 2004 for my 60th and wonder how it compared to 2002!

    Like

  7. BEAUTIFUL!!!! Love your blogs!!!! So happy…that you are OK and have such a wonderful, positive attitude!!! Please know that we are thinking and praying for you. Love you very much, Gma & Gpa

    Like

Leave a comment

Required fields are marked *.